State of datetime handling in Zig?

I recently started learning Zig. So far, this has been a very interesting journey. As a learning project, I began to write a library to handle datetime with timezones, something I always wanted to approach in a “low-level” language. You can find it here on Codeberg (github clone) (ziggit showcase).

Skimming through some repos (zig-datetime, zig-time, zig-tzif), as well as the standard library, I asked myself, what is the state of datetime handling in Zig? What are the plans for the future?

• the standard library does implement some basic aspects like obtain current Unix time from the system, e.g. std.time.nanoTimestamp() or a sleep
  • then there’s epoch.zig, which defines some stuff that I would consider “utilities”, evolving around the Unix epoch - although the name “epoch” could imply anything… Furthermore, for instance there is a function isLeapYear in there, which is not related to any epoch but the Gregorian calendar
  • finally, there’s tz.zig, which seems to contain functionality to handle RFC 8536 TZif files. Which zig-tzif also does, IIUC
  • not exactly datetime, but interesting: std.fmt has a duration formatter - with fixed 365 days per year :octopus:

This leaves me wondering, is datetime a planned std-lib feature? If you have datetime, you might just add time zones as well. So what about time zones?
Python is a good example how not to do it I think; have datetime but no time zones at first, then incomplete ones, then as third party libraries, then years later finally in the std lib.

7 Likes

I think C++'s std::chrono does it really well. Granted, it’s a bit confusing and took me a lecture from Cppcon to understand it, but it’s not C++'s fault, it can be a confusing problem on its own, with timezones and all, and it becomes even more complicated when you take into account problems that are specific to computer science, like resolution and overflows. Since you can access C++ std library from zig, that’s one option.