Memory allocation in linked list

Hi folks, I’m new to zig and trying to build a linked list. I managed to write the following code but it does not work as expected. I think this has something to do with memory allocation.

My code:

const std = @import("std");

pub const LinkedList = struct {
    const Self = @This();
    pub const Node = struct { val: i32, next: ?*Node = null };

head: ?*Node,
    tail: ?*Node,
    length: u32,

pub fn new() LinkedList {
        return LinkedList{ .head = null, .tail = null, .length = 0 };
    }

pub fn insert(self: *Self, v: i32) void {
        var newNode = Node{ .val = v };

if (self.tail != null) {
            var t: *Node = self.tail.?;
            t.next = &newNode;
            self.tail = &newNode;
        } else {
            self.head = &newNode;
            self.tail = &newNode;
        }
        self.length += 1;
    }

pub fn traverse(self: Self) void {
        if (self.head == null) {
            std.debug.print("head is null. nothing to do...\n", .{});
            return;
        }

var h = self.head;
        while (true) {
            if (h == null) {
                break;
            }

const ptr: *Node = h.?;
            std.debug.print("val :{}\n", .{ptr.val});
            h = ptr.next;
        }
    }

pub fn len(self: Self) u32 {
        return self.length;
    }
};

pub fn main() !void {
    var list = LinkedList.new();

list.insert(10);
    list.insert(20);
    list.traverse();
    std.debug.print("len :{}\n", .{list.len()});
}

Output and the error:

zig run main.zig
val :20
val :-1605007032
General protection exception (no address available)
/home/thilina/git/dsa-zig/linked-list/main.zig:46:47: 0x1033a9b in traverse (main)
            std.debug.print("val :{}\n", .{ptr.val});

/home/thilina/git/dsa-zig/linked-list/main.zig:64:18: 0x10338cd in main (main)
    list.traverse();
                 ^
/usr/lib/zig/std/start.zig:511:37: 0x1033864 in posixCallMainAndExit (main)