Zig Comptime is amazing

Came over from Rust and my god is the compile-time programming in Zig incredible

Anyone have fun or unique use-cases of it they’d like to show off? I’m just getting started with a few ideas

6 Likes

Totally! I love comptime strings - I’m a bit of a broken record here but I’m working on a tensor library that does einsum operations (so “X_ijk, Y_klm → ijlm” kind of thing).

Here’s a comptime parser for writing the loop permutation path. I’m very excited about optimizing this in the future because it’s going to be very easy:

fn IndicesPair(comptime lRank: usize, comptime rRank: usize) type {
    return struct {
        lhs : [lRank]SizeAndStrideType = undefined,
        rhs : [rRank]SizeAndStrideType = undefined,
    };
}

>fn contractionParse(
    comptime lRank: usize,
    comptime rRank: usize,
    comptime str: [] const u8
) IndicesPair(lRank, rRank) {
    comptime var index: usize = 0;

// reference for array operator
    const arrow: [] const u8 = "->";

comptime var a: usize = 0;
    comptime var b: usize = 0;

// mark one before the arrow and one after the arrow
    inline while(index < str.len) : (index += 1) {
        if(str[index] == arrow[0]) { a = index; }
        if(str[index] == arrow[1]) { b = index; }
    }

///////////////////////////////////////
    // check for valid infix arrow operator

if((a + 1) != b) {
        @compileError("Malformed arrow operator: " ++ str);
    }
    if(a == 0 or b > (str.len - 2)) {
        @compileError("Arrow must be used as infix operator: " ++ str);
    }

const lhs = str[0..a];
    const rhs = str[b+1..];

if (lhs.len == 0) {
        @compileError("Empty left-side operand: " ++ str);
    }
    if (rhs.len == 0) {
        @compileError("Empty right-side operand: " ++ str);
    }
    if(lhs.len != lRank) {
        @compileError("Provided indices do not match left-side operand rank: " ++ lhs);
    }
    if(rhs.len != rRank) {