What are you working on in Zig?

Excited to have a new Zig forum, figured I’d get us started!

I’ve been working on Mach engine for the last 8 months. The idea is to have a super nice cross-platform game engine, providing all the things you’d expect from a modern engine, but be quite tooling and data oriented.

I’m also blogging about all the work i do on it and occasionally live-streaming on Twitch.

What are you working on in Zig?

27 Likes

Thanks @slimsag for starting the first topic here! and @dude_the_builder for creating this awesome forum!

I’ve been using Zig for the last 7 months or so on a contract to build a closed source trading engine for cryptocurrency markets. Zig is a great fit for building predictable low-latency systems and comptime is a superpower for offline program configuration.

Last month I also starting working on brucelib in my spare time. A game-dev library where I’m applying some lessons learnt from a year of experimenting with Zig for making “handmade” games. I first got interested in Zig and quit my job in the games industry because I was utterly miserable with the status quo. My hope is that Zig will bring back the joy of programming for many more people!

7 Likes

I have been working on a Tree-sitter parser for my toy note taking syntax in Zig. I have the tree-sitter cli building a zig lib and tree-sitter loading it in Neovim. Still not that far into it due to time. But hopefully will get back to it soon. At least I plan to open an upstream tree-sitter issue to allow tree-sitter cli to use zig build.

9 Likes

I am writing a tool to build demoscene 64kb intros on win32. Only just got started with Zig and this project a couple of months ago.

So far my progress is initializing a window with OpenGL and Dear Imgui, and fleshing out a decent node editor. A lot more work to be done.