Using Zig to Call C Code: Strings

I’m a Zig newcomer, and I had trouble finding detailed documentation about how to handle strings when calling C code from Zig.

I wrote this explanation of how strings differ between Zig and C and how to use Zig to write safer wrappers for C functions that take strings as input or output:

I’m still a Zig beginner, so I appreciate any feedback about the post, especially regarding the last example, whose behavior I don’t fully understand.

7 Likes

Cool write up.
Regarding the last example, I don’t get why you’re calling the C code to duplicate the string, and then doing the same thing with zig functions. Just allocate a buffer and copy the contents of the string, no need for the C detour.

Thanks for reading!

It’s admittedly a contrived example because there’s no reason to call strdup from Zig since Zig has better mechanisms for copying a string.

I’m using strdup just because it’s a simple example of how to manage a string in Zig when it’s the output of a C function.

Great article. Some notes:

From the language reference, the first line in the C Pointers section:

This type is to be avoided whenever possible. The only valid reason for using a C pointer is in auto-generated code from translating C code.

The reason they exist is because auto-generated code can’t tell if a pointer translated from C should be a single item pointer or a many item pointer. C pointers coerce to single or many pointers, so for code where you know the intention of the pointer you should use the respective single or many pointer. By using C pointers you miss out on enforced null checking and automatic dereferencing using the . operator. You should change this

const cCopy: [*c]u8 = cString.strdup(str);
    if (cCopy == null) {
        // Maybe we can return a better error by calling std.os.errno(), but for
        // now, return a generic error.
        return error.StrdupFailure;
    }

To this: