Understanding arbitrary bit-width integers

The zig language supports arbitrary bit-width for integers. I see that this can be useful for instance to specify the boundaries of a parameter: e.g. i7 => this only goes from -64 to 63.

However, besides having a “more precise typing system”, what’s the purpose / application? To my understanding, an i7 will still occupy a full byte in memory (packed structs seem to be an exception here)? Does it for example help in arithmetic operations (performance-wise) to know there are only so many bits to consider?

p.s. I just started learning zig for fun, and normally, I don’t dabble on the bit-level :wink:

I use u31 pretty often because it can coerce to an i32 as well as a usize without requiring explicit casting.

Apart from that compiler could theroretically do more optimizations on them. For example a ?u31 or !u31 can be put into 4 bytes, whereas a ?u32 or !u32 requires 8 bytes.
But that optimization isn’t implemented yet.

And then I think it’s also useful when you need big numbers. I have used u128 a couple of times when u64 was too small.

Additionally low-bit numbers are sometimes useful for their overflow behavior

var inu8: u8 = ...;
inu8 = (inu8 + 1)%16;
var inu4: u4 = ...;
inu4 +%= 1; // This is much simpler to use.
6 Likes

Couple of things we use oddly-sized integers at TigeBeetle:

7 Likes

Sometimes you have to use integers with bit length < 8 and this is forced by the compiler.
Consider this code:

pub fn init(a: Allocator, ctx_len: u5) !BitPredictor {
        var bp = BitPredictor{};
        bp.p0 = try a.alloc(u16, @as(u32, 1) << ctx_len);
        @memset(bp.p0, P0MAX / 2);
        return bp;
    }

Any type of ctx_len longer than u5 can potentially result in overflow, so the compiler performs some smart checks. Let’s try use u6 instead of u5. We’ll get this error:

src/bit-predictor.zig:17:49: error: expected type 'u5', found 'u6'
        bp.p0 = try a.alloc(u16, @as(u32, 1) << ctx_len);