The Cyber Resilience Act Threatens the Future of Open Source

Legal liability for failure to future-proof software?

2 Likes

You know, I’m a layman in this issue but I’ve worked around software long enough to think there’s a deep schism here that people are trying to reason out. Here’s my crackpot theory (one more for the internet, I suppose).

They’re trying to solve the age old questions of “who’s to blame?” and “how do you hold them accountable?”.

This will fundamentally have a tension with open source software because OSS thrives on anonymous contribution. It seems to me that this legislation is targetting exactly what makes OSS so powerful to begin with. In a sense, I don’t think we can ever really have our cake and eat it too here.

Am I way off base in reading it this way? I’m genuinely not interested in being controversial but I’d like to understand this a bit better.

3 Likes

I think that in addition to those two age old questions you mention, this is an attempt to implement the kind of dissuasive reasoning behind harsh criminal penalties like life imprisonment and the death penalty in the criminal justice system. Some have proposed that these harsh penalties will prevent future crimes by making would-be perpetrators think twice before acting. History has demonstrated this is not the case, as crime statistics remained pretty much the same. So the people proposing this legislation may be thinking in these same lines. If there’s legal liability for producing software prone to security vulnerabilities, software developers will think twice before producing flawed or buggy software. I don’t think so. What could happen is that software developers could choose to restrict access to their software in countries that implement this type of legislation, somewhat like is done with music and movies today. Imagine an option in GitHub that lets you select the countries that can access your repo; definitely not good for software in general and open source in particular.