Strange behavior with comptime

The following program crashes with a SIGABRT when executing (it compiles correctly):

const std = @import("std");
const SIZEX = 6;
pub fn main() !void {
    const stdout = std.io.getStdOut().writer();
    const indexes = init: {
        comptime var t: [SIZEX]usize = undefined;
        for (t) |*b, ix| {
            b.* = ix;
        }
        break :init t;
    };
    try stdout.print("{d}\n", .{indexes[0]});
}

but the program works if I suppress the comptime qualifier.
I am quite new to zig, and I am surprised by a behaviour. Why is it crashing, and if it has to crash, why the compiler doesn’t detect the problem (the code is not exactly that complex).
Thanks

Usually when you get crashes with seg faults or the like, it means you’re compiling straight to release mode, which removes a lot of useful checks and information for debugging. You should try compilig in debug mode to see what errors you get. In this case though, I tried your code and all I get is a cryptic Bus error at address.. error, so that doesn’t help much. I did get it working just by moving the comptime keyword to before the init:, making the whole block comptime instead of just the var.

This error can happen on some architectures in case of unaligned access.

I don’t think there is any possible unaligned access on current x86_64 architecture. Looks just like the compiler is heavily bugged and the language not mature enough to be evan useful for elementary applications. Thanks to both of you however for trying. (BTW: I tested the code both in release and debug mode, and with two versions of the compiler 0.10.0 and the “nightly” branch). Thanks again.

On x86_64 the example crashes at b.* = ix; with segfault:

$ ./486 
Segmentation fault at address 0x201828
./486.zig:9:13: 0x20ff5a in main (486)
            b.* = ix;
            ^
/opt/zig-0.10/lib/std/start.zig:606:37: 0x20fa5e in posixCallMainAndExit (486)
            const result = root.main() catch |err| {