Skip a step if the step it depends on is cached or not

Hi everyone!
I’m brand new to the world of zig! :slight_smile:

I’m currently trying to figure out the build system, I’m using zig 0.11.0, and would like to know if there’s a way to skip a step if the step it depends on is cached or not.

Assuming I have this simple build script:

const std = @import("std");

pub fn build(b: *std.Build) void {
    const exe = b.addExecutable(.{
        .name = "test.bin",
        .root_source_file = .{ .path = "test.zig" },
    });

const install = b.addInstallArtifact(exe, .{});

const run_echo = b.addSystemCommand(&.{
        "echo",
        "Hello word... Need to rebuild! :)",
    });
    run_echo.step.dependOn(&install.step);

b.getInstallStep().dependOn(&run_echo.step);
}

When I run zig build --summary all twice, this is what I get:

riblanc :: ~/test » zig build --summary all
Hello word... Need to rebuild! :)
Build Summary: 4/4 steps succeeded
install success
└─ run echo success 869us MaxRSS:2M
   └─ install test.bin success
      └─ zig build-exe test.bin Debug native success 743ms MaxRSS:164M
riblanc :: ~/test » zig build --summary all
Hello word... Need to rebuild! :)
Build Summary: 4/4 steps succeeded
install success
└─ run echo success 897us MaxRSS:2M
   └─ install test.bin cached
      └─ zig build-exe test.bin Debug native cached 3ms MaxRSS:36M

Even if the install test.bin step is cached, the run echo step runs.
What I’d like to do is run the echo step if and only if the install test.bin isn’t cached.

Does anyone know how to create such a dependency?

Hi @riblanc, welcome to ziggit! :slight_smile:

b.getInstallStep().dependOn(&run_echo.step); means that install depends on run_echo.step and it will run this step every time you run zig build install or zig build, because install is the default build step.
Note that install and uninstall are standard steps that are not related to the install declared constant.