Probably a rookie mistake, mismatched type error in zig-bincode

Hello Zig forum, i am very fairly new to zig, and at the moment i’m trying to write a small chat client-server project to check out the language.

For this i am using a binary format known as bincode, and fourtunately a implementation exists in Zig, but 0.12.0 seems to be problematic in this library.

A pull request above does fix a fair share of issues, but given a struct that has a const u8, the compiler is not happy:

bincode.zig:202:62: error: expected type '@typeInfo(@typeInfo(@TypeOf(bincode.read__anon_4260)).Fn.return_type.?).ErrorUnion.error_set!usize', found 'u64'
                            .unsigned => std.math.cast(U, z) orelse return error.FailedToCastZZ,

Struct example:

pub const MyStruct = struct {
    somefield: MyTestEnum,
    spec: []const u8,
};

I have tried to use 0.11.0, and here there is no issues in question. I have been scratching my head for the past 4 days, so i came here for a different perspective, hopefully

Hey, welcome to Ziggit :slight_smile:

That error message happens when you have not unpacked an error union type.

const x = allocator.alloc(u8, 100);
x[0]; // will give you that error

const x = try allocator.alloc(u8, 100);
x[0]; // will be fine

Can you post the code that’s causing you to have that problem?

1 Like

Adding to what @AndrewCodeDev posted, this is also common when you actually use a try but in a function that does not return an error. In that case you have to catch the error and handle it.

const Mint = struct {
        authority: bincode.Option([32]u8),
        supply: u64,
        decimals: []count u8,
        is_initialized: bool,
        freeze_authority: bincode.Option([32]u8),
    };

var buffer = std.ArrayList(u8).init(testing.allocator);
    defer buffer.deinit();

const expected: Mint = .{
        .authority = bincode.Option([32]u8).from([_]u8{ 1, 2, 3, 4 } ** 8),
        .supply = 1,
        .decimals = "1234",