Parsing JSON and ArrayList

Hi everyone! I’m new to the Zig programming language (three days in!) and manually managing memory in general. I was hoping someone might be kind enough to point me in the right direction regarding this JSON parsing question:

To try and learn some of the language fundamentals, I have an incomplete and contrived example of some code that reads in a JSON object (assumes it exists) that contains an array of todo items, parses it, and then exposes some utility functions to modify the list.

My goal was to end up with the list of todo items in an ArrayList. I was curious to know if my attempt at this is close to correct, or if it is wildly off target. Any advice regarding a correct / idiomatic solution or just general comments (especially if I am way off base about the need for it to end up in an ArrayList) would be greatly appreciated!

const std = @import("std");
const fs = std.fs;
const json = std.json;
const Parsed = json.Parsed;
const Allocator = std.mem.Allocator;
const ArrayList = std.ArrayList;

pub const TodoManager = struct {
    const Self = @This();

allocator: Allocator,
    path: []const u8,
    todo_list: ArrayList(TodoItem),

pub const Todo = struct { items: []TodoItem };

pub fn init(allocator: Allocator, path: []const u8) !Self {
        const file = try fs.cwd().readFileAlloc(allocator, path, 512);
        defer allocator.free(file);

const parsed = try json.parseFromSlice(Todo, allocator, file, .{ .allocate = .alloc_always });
        defer parsed.deinit();

var todo_list = ArrayList(TodoItem).init(allocator);

for (parsed.value.items) |item| {
            const owned_task = try allocator.dupe(u8, item.task);
            const new_item: TodoItem = .{
                .task = owned_task,
                .status = item.status,
            };

try todo_list.append(new_item);
        }

return .{
            .allocator = allocator,
            .path = path,
            .todo_list = todo_list,
        };
    }