Looking for opinions and suggestions on a CLI library project

Hi everyone, recently @AndrewCodeDev and I made a very cool library called Fluent. Now we are approaching maturity, but I want to test it for myself and see if everything feels right. In order to do that I’ve settled on building a small CLI library, which I’ve never done before, so, I’d like to request some of your experience and knowledge, in order to make it decent. So here are my questions for you. What do you expect from a CLI library ? Argument parsing seems obvious, but are there other stuff that seems important to you ? What’s the kind of API you would like to find ? Do you know any good project that I can take inspiration from ? if you have any other suggestions feel free I’d love to hear about it.

4 Likes

I think a way to easily colour and format text would be nice, so a collection of escape sequences

3 Likes

I think the main question here would be, “What even is a CLI library?”
Besides just handling argument parsing, the requirements can diverge greatly.
TUI, interactivity, repls, promts, user input, progress bars, etc

Here are things I have used in the past:
all the ansi color things: colorama · PyPI
Clickable hyperlinks: crates.io: Rust Package Registry
Elaborate error reporting: crates.io: Rust Package Registry

1 Like

Ok good, I can make a custom writter with nice options for formatting and coloring, that’s a good idea, do you know of any “standard” that exist to propose such features ? Or is it really implementation dependant ?

Euh afaik there isn’t really one besides a writer, which is perfectly fine imo

1 Like