Linking `ncurses` on NixOS

I am new to zig.

I am trying to play with ncurses in zig and am having troubel setting up my build.zig.

I am on nix and have installed ncurses, when I do ncurses-config -l I get : -L/nix/store/lhfi31nbyv62rw5szbfrh3pdnvcfgxmc-ncurses-6.4/lib -lncursesw

So far, I have tried the following

1. Naming ncurses in the build script
const std = @import("std");

pub fn build(b: *std.Build) void {
    const target = std.zig.CrossTarget{ .os_tag = .linux, .cpu_arch = .x86_64 };

const exe = b.addExecutable(.{
        .name = "ncurses_interaction",
        .root_source_file = .{ .path = "ncurses_interaction.zig" },
        .target = target,
    });

exe.linkLibC();
    exe.linkSystemLibrary("ncursesw");

b.installArtifact(exe);
}

This prouduced the following error

zig build-exe ncurses_interaction Debug x86_64-linux: error: error: unable to find Dynamic system library 'ncursesw' using strategy 'paths_first'. searched paths: none

zig build-exe ncurses_interaction Debug x86_64-linux: error: the following command exited with error code 1:
/nix/store/19sirdxr263wp244wgp51vb291br0f9k-zig-0.11.0/bin/zig build-exe /home/user/work_in_progress/interactive_job_submission/ncurses_interaction.zig -lncursesw -lc --cache-dir /home/user/work_in_progress/interactive_job_submission/zig-cache --global-cache-dir /home/user/.cache/zig --name ncurses_interaction -target x86_64-linux -mcpu x86_64 --listen=- 
Build Summary: 0/3 steps succeeded; 1 failed (disable with --summary none)
install transitive failure
└─ install ncurses_interaction transitive failure
   └─ zig build-exe ncurses_interaction Debug x86_64-linux failure
error: the following build command failed with exit code 1: