Interfacil - A Zig Package for Interfaces

Hey! I made my very first package.

I’ve always been frustrated by the lack of interfaces in the Zig language, especially after having a taste of Rust’s traits. However, knowing Zig’s take on simplicity, and where it stands in its roadmap, I understand why it can’t be there yet (maybe ever).

But with the help of a few seemingly under-appreciated features like usingnamespace, the lazy semantic analysis, the absence of actual distinction between methods and functions, I’ve made Interfacil.

Here’s a little snippet:

const Vector2D = struct {
    x: i32 = 0,
    y: i32 = 0,

pub usingnamespace interfacil.Equivalent(Vector2D, .{});
};

test {
    const v1 = Vector2D{};
    const v2 = Vector2D{ .y = -42 };
    const v3 = v1;
    try expect(!v1.eq(v2));
    try expect(!v2.eq(v3));
    try expect(v3.eq(v1));
}

I hope you’ll enjoy it and find it useful for your own projects and productivity!

I’m a hobbyist programmer, and it’s my very first published project. I’ll be grateful for any feedback :slight_smile:

8 Likes

Really Nice Idea, I’m trying to build something from Rust too, I would really love to have a Result in Zig with the Some or None, and having nice payload attached to none, etc.

1 Like

There’s one in my misc.zig file. I also thought I miggt use it in the future.

1 Like

But you will loose try and catch. The challenge is to retain Zig’s excellent error propagating ergonomics while carrying error context (payload) upstack.

2 Likes

You don’t completly lose catch:

var fail: Fail = undefined;
const pass = result.nab(&fail) orelse {
    // do something with `fail`
};

That’s dirtier because it pollute the namespace, but I find it good enough. As for try I don’t think anything could come close unfortunately.

1 Like