Inquiry about 'for' loop syntax when using references

Hello, I’m quite new to Zig and I’ trying to understand why the * prefix is necessary in |*i| to make a pointer capture value when looping over a reference to an iterable in a for loop:

const arr = [_]u8{1, 2, 3};
    for (&arr) |*i| {
        // "i" here is a pointer that can be deferenced via: "i.*"
        }

because when looping by reference (&), I expected the loop variable i to be a pointer directly (without the * prefix).

Also interestingly, the type of i in both:
1.) for (arr) |i| {}
2.) for (&arr) |i| {}

is the same (a u8), whereas I expected the second case to involve a pointer.

Could someone please shed some light or intuition on why that is the case?

1 Like

Hey @OSuwaidi - welcome to Ziggit

The &arr syntax refers to the array itself, not to the items in the array - you are capturing the array by pointer and then unpacking each element by value. That’s why they’re the same.

2 Likes

If you’re coming from Rust, I can understand why you would expect looping over a pointer to an array to produce pointers to the items; that’s exactly what Rust does. But in Zig it helps to think about the capture here |i| or |*i| as how you define function parameters fn foo(i: u8) versus fn foo(i: *u8). You are controlling whether you want to mutate the item or not just as you control whether you want to mutate a passed-in argument to a function or not.

4 Likes

I think one of the reason why is explicitness. One of Zig’s goal is to be very explicit, in one of Andrew’s demo he actually start by making his audience read and debug some meta-programming in Zig, which is notoriously one of the hardest part of any language and he does make a point that explicit syntax can help people interact with a language. Now for the for loop capture syntax, it might feel a bit odd at first, but let’s take a quick example :

pub fn foo(objects: String) void {
    for (objects) |obj| {
        // do stuff
    }
}