Best way to release packages for libraries?

@Gonzo brought up a question that I’m searching for an answer to:

I’m not very experienced in automating this process and I haven’t looked into doing this with the Zig build system. Any direction here would be greatly appreciated.

From both the author’s point of view and for the person trying to integrate it, what’s the best way to do that with Zig to date?

Technically it already can be used like it is, by adding fluent as a dependency to your application project (via zig fetch --save=fluent archive.tar.gz details below) and then using something like this:

const mod_fluent = b.addModule("fluent", .{
    .root_source_file = b.dependency("fluent", .{}).path("fluent.zig"),
});
exe.root_module.addImport("fluent", mod_fluent);

However I think the nicer way (for more complex libraries) may be to provide a build.zig that declares a module, steps below.

Library

I think using zig init and removing the application specific parts, then adding the fluent.zig file as a module in the build.zig via:

_ = b.addModule("fluent", .{
    .root_source_file = .{ .path = "fluent.zig" },
});

User application

Then the user can use zig init to initialize a application project, use

zig fetch --save=fluent <commit-specific-archive-download-link>.tar.gz

to add the dependency.

And add

exe.root_module.addImport("fluent", b.dependency("fluent", .{}).module("fluent"));

to the build.zig after the exe declaration to make the module importable in the application.

Commit specific archive download link

To get the <commit-specific-archive-download-link> click on Commits on github, then Browse repository at this point, then Code and copy the Download ZIP link, then change the ending from .zip to .tar.gz

Why commit specific?