Newb problems with tcp clients

Networking Newbie here. I want to send something to a server, but have heard conflicting information about if its possible to send something without closing the stream.

Code:

const stream = try std.net.tcpConnectToHost(allocator, "www.example.org", 1234);
defer stream.close();

for (1..4) {
    try stream.writeAll("whooo");
    // this is where i, if its possible, want to send the "whooo", but I cant
    // find a way to do so, without reopening the stream every single time
    // inside this loop
}
// here, at the end of the scope, is where the all the "whooo"s are actually sent

I dont think that Ive phrased this very well, but am struggling to do so. If something is unclear, please ask.

EDIT: changed port num from 0x0 to 1234 for convetions sake

I’m not sure why do you think that you can’t send a message without reopening the stream.

Also, it is wrong to say that all the messages are actually sent at the end of the scope. Simply, the kernel choose when to send the data.

Another advice is to not use the hex base for the port number; instead use the decimal base.

Okay, thank you, this is very valuable information already. (More than my informatics teacher could provide lol). I didnt know the kernel decides this.
Is there a way to manually tell the kernel to send?

See Nagle's algorithm - Wikipedia for the reason why your messages are not sent as soon as possible.

You can use the TCP_NODELAY socket option to disable it.

1 Like

Thank you very much. Could you provide a code sample?

@mperillo This is TCP client sample.

A host is echo server built with rust (I/O | Tokio - An asynchronous Rust runtime).

const std = @import("std");

pub fn main() !void {
    var arena = std.heap.ArenaAllocator.init(std.heap.page_allocator);
    defer arena.deinit();
    const allocator = arena.allocator();

const cli = try std.net.tcpConnectToHost(allocator, "127.0.0.1", 6142);
    defer cli.close();

for (1..4) |_| {